Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Nation Rising Speaker Series: “A revolution in agriculture is coming.”

September 28 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Join us on September 28th, 2022 for a Nation Rising Speaker Series event featuring MP Tjeerd de Groot from the Dutch Democrats 66 party (since 2017).

Since 1990, wildlife populations in the Netherlands have halved on farmland and in nature reserves. The main reason for this decrease is the enormous nitrogen emissions. In December 2021 the Dutch government unveiled a €25bn plan to radically reduce the number of livestock in an effort to reduce an overload of animal manure. A deal to buy out farmers to try to reduce levels of nitrogen pollution in the country had been in the works for some time, and was finally confirmed after the agreement of a new coalition government in the Netherlands in December 2021.

The plan, the first of its kind in the world, faces protests from farmers who have staged large street protests in recent years over the prospect of tough regulation and farmer buyouts. MP Tjeerd de Groot will cover these forward looking topics as well as animal centric policies such as putting an end to factory farming and establishing the legal position of animals in the Netherlands.

https://www.parlement.com/id/vk9hlnkm9kul/tj_c_tjeerd_de_groot

Streaming on:
Zoom; Register here: https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJIqc-qopzoqHNAKD2nyX36RvN6OR7zYk3Gy
Facebook; Join here:
YouTube; Join here:
Twitter; Join here:

12:00 PM Eastern
11:00 AM Central
10:00 AM Mountain
9:00 AM Pacific
6:00 PM CET